No games just TANTRUMS

What is it about 3 that morphs my sweet little girl into the unreachable depths of Jekyll?

My mom always told me the story of how Turkey’s mom flailed her body on the grocery store floor and all she could do was take a step over her tantrum and walk away from the unsoothable behavior.  Not my Monkey, I would think. I have a psychology minor on my side.  Surely I could redirect the behavior…

Me: Monkey should we get some chips at Costco?
Monkey: Yes, this one. * she inserts jumbo bag of Doritos in cart*
Me: We can’t open them until we pay for them.
(I now realize this was the pivotal moment where the changing begain.  However please note she previously had 3 snacks prior and we were picking up a quick dinner as well to make for an “easy night” in my mind.)

Me:  Monkey, we do not whine and scream for chips. This is bad behavior and we are not getting chips anymore.

Things went from bad to terrible. Screaming the whole way thru Costco. She literally had her teeth clamped on the cart at one point.

Whole drive home…felt something swish passed my head, and noted her glitter jelly landed on my passenger seat.

At home she decided to continue on whaling and fighting and grabbing my legs as I emptied the car.

I text Monkey’s dad saying I’m going to need some support tonight.

Then I sit down in her play area because the tv will not be going on tonight…she turns to me with her red blotchy face and like the flip of a delayed switch Hyde returns.

Monkey: What flavor do you like?
Me: *sighing* chocolate
Monkey turns back to her toy table and proceeds to make me a concoction in her kitchen.

Monkey’s Dad strolls in …
MD: What happened today Monkey? Mommy said you were naughty?
Monkey: I wanted the red chips.

#ineedavaca #tellmewheremysweetladywent #unacceptablebehavior

image

Leave a comment